About the Awards

The Spirit of Waldorf Award is presented to someone who has given dedicated service to the Waldorf School over many years, and has worked to make the School a better place. The recipient is recognized for his/her compassion and contribution to the School.

Past Recipients:

2004 - Robert Weschler (Former Faculty Member)
2007 - Bob Dale (Former Buildings and Grounds Supervisor) and Pat Seelinger (Former School Nurse)
2010 - Roxanne Martindale Murphy ’70 (Former Pre-School Teacher and Former Faculty Chair)
2013 - Bruce Travins (Former School Librarian) 

The recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Award is recognized for outstanding scholarly achievement, professional excellence and dedication to the students and mission of the Waldorf School of Garden City for more than ten years. This individual has demonstrated unwavering commitment to the teaching profession and serves as a role model for students in balancing scholarly pursuits and community service.

Past Recipients:
2004 - Janet Kane (Pre-School Teacher and Early Childhood Chair)
2007 - Trudi Brechbühl (Former Pre-School Teacher) and Lee Lecraw (Former Class Teacher)
2010 - Peter A. Curran* (Former Glen Brook Director, High School Teacher and Chair, and Faculty Chair)
2013 - Jo Ann Shaw (Former Class Teacher) and Rebecca Soloway (Former Class Teacher) 

The Outstanding Alumni Award is given to a graduate who has achieved a level of distinction within his/her chosen field, brings credit to the Waldorf School of Garden City, exemplifies the qualities that a Waldorf education strives to nurture, has remained actively associated with our School, has shown commitment and support for the School’s mission, and has earned recognition for professional achievement and community service.

Past Recipients:
2004 - Kenneth I. Chenault ’69 (Chairman & CEO, American Express)
2007 - Charles B. Rose ’78 (Principal Design Architect, Charles Rose Architects, Inc.)
2010 - Hans-Christian Brechbühl ’78 (Executive Director & Adjunct Associate Professor, Center for Digital Strategies, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College) and Helen Resnick Shaw ’82 (Chief Administrative Officer, Willoughby Capital Management, LLC)
2013 - Nicholas C. Croce '90* (Former President of Inference Data)

The Hans Brechbühl Service Award is presented to parents in our community who have made a lasting contribution to our School through volunteer service. This award is named in honor of Hans Brechbühl, husband of former pre-school teacher Trudi Brechbühl, and father of four Waldorf alumni. Mr. Brechbühl was president of the Wall Street firm Baer Securities. He was a man of great intellect and vision and extraordinary compassion and generosity. He gave his time and talents to numerous causes and organizations and one very dear to him was the Waldorf School of Garden City. From 1972 to 1975, he and Trudi served as chairs of the Parent Association. If there was something that needed to be done at the School, Mr. Brechbühl was always there to lend a hand.

Past Recipients:
2004 - Jay and Diana Dorman (Former Parent Association Chairs and School Legal Counsel)
2007 - William and Dolores Williams* (Former Parent Association Chairs)
2010 - Charles and Joan* Rodriguez (Former Parent Association Chairs and Former Member of the Board of Trustees) as well as Richard and Joanne Pisano (Former Parent Association Chairs)
2013 - John and Kristin Miller (Former Board of Trustees Members) 

The Franz Winkler Leadership Award is named after a local physician who was also a prominent community figure in the early history of our School. Along with our school’s benefactor, Alarik Myrin, Dr. Winkler urged Adelphi University to establish a Waldorf School based on the educational principles of Rudolf Steiner. The Franz Winkler Leadership Award is given to a person who has led the school, provided vision and direction, guided the School’s growth and advancement, has inspired loyalty and support for a shared vision, and empowers others to excel and achieve their personal best.

Past Recipients
2004 - George V. Rose (Former Faculty Chair)
2007 - George and Leonore Russell (Former Board of Trustees Chair and Former Faculty Member)
2010 - William J. Jennings (Former Board of Trustees Chair)
2013 - Marilyn Cranin (Former Board of Trustees Member)

The Heritage Award was created in order to honor individuals who played a significant role in establishing the Waldorf School of Garden City.

Past Recipients
2004 - John Gardner* (Former Faculty Chair)
2007 - H.A.W. and Mabel Pew Myrin* (Founders and Benefactors of the Waldorf School of Garden City)

*Awarded Posthumously


We want students to meet exciting people, try something different, discover something about themselves, and see the world from a new perspective; put simply we want students to learn.


There is an inviting atmosphere throughout our school created by happy children, engaged families, and dedicated teachers. As a parent—the opportunity to self-select your child’s peer group, one which is aligned with your family’s values and outlook on the world, is amongst the most important educational decisions you can make.


We provide unparalleled opportunities for children, by immersing them in our working farm, outdoor adventures and a community of adults who respect the natural world.


We take the best of classical education and make it relevant by intertwining the arts with academics, resulting in a synergistic experience that creates deeper meaning. No other form of education provides for an academic experience this enriching, authentic and joyful.


We provide opportunities for children to be challenged while creating an environment that allows them to be healthy, satisfied, and productive community members.


Our school includes a 200-acre farm campus, organic gardens, and a community that values well-balanced children.

A Classical Liberal Arts Education Serving Grades N-12

225 Cambridge Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530


powered by finalsite