a community of child development scholars

Founded in 1947, the Waldorf School of Garden City is a community of teachers and child development professionals who have come together for the purpose of educating, supporting, and inspiring children. Below is an abridged timeline of our school's major milestones.

1947

The Waldorf School of Garden City opens its doors as The Waldorf Demonstration School of Adelphi College. Established with the support of Dr. Hermann von Baravalle, Paul Dawson Eddy, President of Adelphi, Dr. Franz Winkler, prominent local physician, and H.A.W. Myrin (pictured above) and his wife, Mabel Pew Myrin, it begins as an elementary school with Betty Kendell as the first Administrative Director.

1949

John F. Gardner assumes Administrative Director.

1950

The building expands to include the present-day business office, preschool, elementary school, and Bonner Hall.

1956

Further expansion makes room for music, sculpting and woodworking studios, science labs, as well as a new gym, library, and main office.

The first eighth grade class graduates with Alfred Tomlinson as their class teacher.

1958

The high school wing is completed.

1960

The first high school commencement takes place with Dr. Winkler, a prominent local physician and a founder of the School, as the guest speaker.

1964

The Waldorf Institute for Liberal Education at Adelphi Univeristy,a Waldorf teaching school, is established under the leadership of Director John Gardner, Executive Secretary Janice Kreitner, and professor Lee Lecraw.

1965

The Waldorf Choral Society is established under the direction of Director George V. Rose.

Our School becomes the first Waldorf School to be accredited by the Middle Atlantic States Region of NAIS. 

Peter Curran assumes principalship of the High School.

1967

The Waldorf Institute receives accreditation from Adelphi University to offer a Master’s Degree in Elementary Education for its graduates.

The High School hosts its first Literary and Gourmet Society Dinner.

1968

A new running track is installed around the athletic field.

1970

Mr. Myrin, a founder and benefactor to the School passes away.

The School organizes a work day for its students on the first National Earth Day, the precursor to the School’s contemporary student work program at Camp Glen Brook.

1971

Students of the Lower School construct the Nature Trail around the perimeter of the school grounds under the guidance of Robert Weschler.

George Rose, director of the choral program, takes the Waldorf Singers on their first European Tour.

Dr. Winkler, founder and supporter of our school, passes away.

1972

Mabel Pew Myrin, friend and benefactor of the School passes away.

Peter Curran organizes the first class trip to Glen Brook as part of the student work program.

1973

A new addition is built onto the preschool wing to house our current art studio and observatory.

The school acquires Camp Glen Brook through the efforts and generosity of Peter Curran. Class trips to the 250-acre New Hampshire farm become a regular part of the curriculum.

1974

David Barten succeeds John F. Gardner as Faculty Chairman.

Mr. Curran passes principalship of the High School to Andrew Leaf to focus his efforts on Camp Glen Brook.

1977

Andrew Leaf becomes Faculty Chairman of the School.

1978

Peter Curran becomes interim Faculty Chairman.

George Rose assumes chairmanship of the High School.

1979

The school changes its name to The Waldorf School of Garden City from The Waldorf School of Adelphi University.

The Board of Trustees is established.

Elizabeth Scherer becomes Faculty Chair.

1981

George Rose is named Faculty Chairman.

The Waldorf Singers embark on their second European tour.

1982

Dr. George Russell is elected Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

1983

James Madsen assumes chairmanship of the High School.

The School's first computer lab is built.

The School celebrates its 35th anniversary.

1984

Bonner Hall is renovated thanks to the generosity of its namesake, Florence Bonner.

1985

The first Parents’ Maintenance Weekend is organized.

Physical Education teacher, Laszlo Jurak represents the U.S. Olympic Committee in Cyprus during an exchange program for Olympic coaches.

1987

James Madsen is named Director of Camp Glen Brook.

Leonore Russell takes over as High School Chair.

1989

Camp Glen Brook debuts its challenging ropes course.

1992

Marilyn Ruppart assumes the position of  Faculty Chair.

The preschool is expanded to include a Nursery for three-year-olds.

1994

A Strategic Plan for the School is developed through the joint efforts of faculty, trustees, parents and alumni.

The biology room is renovated into a life science lab and named after Dr. George Russell.

A new state-of-the-art computer lab is built for the High School.

1995

William Jennings takes over as Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

Charles Henderson becomes the School’s Administrative Director.

Roland Rothenbucher is named High School Chairman.

1996

The first Sports Award Night takes place, sponsored by the Parent Association.

1997

The School celebrates its 50th anniversary.

The school establishes the College of Teachers led by a Faculty Chair, with the Faculty Council as its executive committee.

The Parent Toddler Program begins.

1998

Susan Braun is named School Administrator.

The track is upgraded with a new running surface.

1999

The Extended Day Program is established.

White Meadows, a 50-acre field, is incorporated into Camp Glen Brook through the generosity of Dr. Robert White and his son David White.

2000

The physics and chemistry labs are renovated, and the chemistry lab is named for long-time science teacher Al Tomlinson.

2003

The school celebrates its Inaugural Gala at the Milleridge Cottage in Jericho, N.Y to benefit the Scholarship and Endowment Fund.

2004

Executive Director of Development Scott A. Williams '85, John Miller and Kenneth I. Chenault '69 lead the school in a successful $2.1 million "Opening Worlds of Opportunity" capital campaign to renovate the library, increase the Scholarship & Endowment Fund, and refurbish the Glen Brook facilities.

2007

Twain Braden '88 is named Director of Camp Glen Brook. 

The school celebrates its 60th Anniversary Gala at the Millerdige Cottage in Jericho, N.Y.

2008

Sabine Kully becomes Faculty Chair.

As the focal point of the Capital Campaign, the library undergoes significant renovations during the summer and is renamed The Miller Library in honor of Capital Campaign Chairman, John Miller, and former faculty member and Trustee, Kristin Miller.

2009

Jay Dorman becomes Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

CAMPUS LIFE

We want students to meet exciting people, try something different, discover something about themselves, and see the world from a new perspective; put simply we want students to learn.

PARENTS

There is an inviting atmosphere throughout our school created by happy children, engaged families, and dedicated teachers. As a parent—the opportunity to self-select your child’s peer group, one which is aligned with your family’s values and outlook on the world, is amongst the most important educational decisions you can make.

GREEN & ACTIVE

We provide unparalleled opportunities for children, by immersing them in our working farm, outdoor adventures and a community of adults who respect the natural world.

ACADEMICS

We take the best of classical education and make it relevant by intertwining the arts with academics, resulting in a synergistic experience that creates deeper meaning. No other form of education provides for an academic experience this enriching, authentic and joyful.

ADMISSIONS

We provide opportunities for children to be challenged while creating an environment that allows them to be healthy, satisfied, and productive community members.

THE BASICS

Our school includes a 200-acre farm campus, organic gardens, and a community that values well-balanced children.

A Classical Liberal Arts Education Serving Grades N-12

225 Cambridge Avenue, Garden City, NY 11530

516.742.3434

powered by finalsite